Choices.

One of my favorite conversations so far in my life was with a stranger on a plane. It was an early Saturday morning flight, and turned out to be one of my favorite examples of fate. How people end up in our lives for a reason, always.

I’m a bit of a nervous flyer sometimes, and he built airplanes as a hobby. I didn’t tell him I was nervous, but he still explained how the plane worked. I’m not always the greatest at talking with strangers, but felt like I needed to talk with him.

Right before we landed he asked if he could tell me something. I said sure.

“Remember you get to choose who you spend your time with. You have so many things going for you, and you always get to choose.”

Funny how a small sentence changed my life, but it did. I think about that man almost daily, and his advice.

All of life is a choice. When things stop making you smile, it’s time to move on.

And that’s always a choice we have.

Leave a Reply

