I’ve got Christmas Eve on my mind tonight

“We are empty handed like we were before. And I miss you like a thunder with no storm. Happy New Year’s, baby, is all I can afford to give to you, I won’t bother you unless you want me to.” – “Xmas Eve” The Damnwells

20131224-083600.jpg

I wrapped my last present this morning. I spent a few minutes looking at my tree before the sun came up. Christmas is my favorite time of year, by far, but I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about it this time around. If someone had told me a year ago this is where I’d be and this is how Christmas would go, I would’ve laughed and then probably got a little defensive, because that’s how I reacted to comments like that back then. It’s been my favorite holiday season as an adult, without question. That tree is all mine. I decorated it myself. There are plenty of presents under it. I’m thankful for a job where I get to spend my days with really great people every day. I can’t even begin to express how much my friends mean to me and how much their friendship meant to me this year. It was a tough one, but it turned out okay. We all made it through. I thought about all of this as I watched the lights hit the glitter covering the tree that’s all mine. And I felt joy. 

Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

